Each state has its own limits on liability that it requires its drivers to have in order to drive on their streets. New York is no different and it has additional things that need to be adhered to. You must carry the following with your New York Auto Insurance policy:
$25,000 minimum coverage for bodily injuries for one person who is involved in an accident
$50,000 an additional $25,000 is required for a second person who may be injured in the accident. The total of $50,000 should be split between the two people
$10,000 is the minimum amount of coverage required to cover property damage.
$50,000 is the limit for personal injury charges.
In New York you are required to carry uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injuries. In addition, New York drivers must carry no-fault coverage which means that it doesn’t matter who is at fault for an accident each person uses their own insurance coverage when an accident occurs. Drivers in this state must have at least $50,000 to cover personal injuries from an accident.
The New York Auto Insurance no-fault coverage includes:
- 80% of the earnings a person might lose while out of work from being injured. This rate is good for $2,000 for each month up to three years.
- Replacement services, household help, etc. up to $25 per day.
- Medical and rehab services that are necessary and reasonably priced.
- $2,000 for death benefits.
The following exclusions will nullify any no-fault benefits that an individual thinks he or she will qualify for:
- If the person was impaired in any way that includes drugs or alcohol and was a part of why the accident occurred.
- If her or she was the driver or passenger of an all-terrain vehicle (ATV).
- If the person purposely caused injuries to himself.
- If the owner did not have his vehicle insured.
- If the person was in a vehicle that was stolen.
- If the person who was injured was committing a felony when the accident occurred.
There are additional additions to your coverage that you may want to consider. They include comprehensive coverage which pays for damages to your car for anything other than an accident. This would include fire, theft, or vandalism, among other things. Collision pays the damages to your car during an accident. If you still owe money on your car your lender may require you to carry collision insurance until it is paid for. Ask your insurance agent about other extras.